Reeeejected: Cleansers and a Mask

This is exactly what the title says: a collection of things I’m totally done with for various reasons. All of these are things I disliked enough to get rid of them before they ran out, which, considering my broke-ass college student life, is a pretty significant statement.

Cerave Hydrating Facial Cleanser

Not bad, but not good, either. The pH tested to a 5.5, which is acidic enough for most people, but it left my skin dry and tight after a few days of use. I know I said before that I was going to use it up, but it just got too drying for me to handle. Slapping a hydrating toner or an acid over top of it fixed the problem, but that always strikes me as bandaging the problem rather than fixing it. When my skin was less sensitive, this worked fine though. It’s cheap and readily available, but I hate-hate-hate the feel of this stuff on my skin; no matter how much I wipe it off or splash it off, it always feels like there’s a residue left on my face. Bleh.

CosRX Low pH Good Morning Gel Cleanser

The beloved low pH cleanser of many skincare bloggers, I HATED this cleanser. The good: A little goes a long way, and it’s already dirt cheap, so one tube will last forever. The bad: HOLY SHIT but this stuff is hard to get off your face. It’s not even a problem of residue (like with the Cerave cleanser); it’s a problem of straight-up cleanser still on your face. That left my skin LITERALLY FLAKING OFF I’M DISGUSTED JUST THINKING ABOUT IT. It’s entirely possible that my skin just can’t handle the tea tree scent anymore and that that’s why I reacted so badly to it. IDK, man. Just. Get it away from me.

UFS (unidentified fly soap), AKA “Jesus Soap”

Thank you, Grandmother, for occasionally providing Mom with the strangest beauty products you find in thrift shops. Hence the Jesus Soap: it’s Three-Wise-Men themed, and no amount of googling is helping me find the manufacturer, which is probably because they went out of business in the 1800s. Or something. Anyways, it’s a set of three bar soaps, each one scented after the gifts the Wise Men brought to Jesus for his birthday (gold, frankincense, and myrrh). I used the “gold” one, which smells kind of like honey and cinnamon, but it left my skin raw after using it. And since I only really use bar soap on my intimate areas in the shower… Not pleasant. They smell nice, though.

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Overnight Hydrating Masque

First of all, “masque?” Really? Does it need to be that pretentious? Second of all, if you’re calling this a “masque,” Kiehl’s, then it needs to be damn good. For example, it should dry down completely and not leave a sticky residue on your face. Since it’s an overnight mask, it should not roll up and leave little gummy bits on your pillow. The hydrating powers should last past the washing off of the mask. If, say, you hypothetically put this mask on your feet, they should receive some sort of long term hydration rather than just a temporary softness. And yet here it is, on a rejects’ list. Do with that what you will.

Leave a comment